Mike Boone to receive J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award

Mike BooneDallas attorney and SMU Trustee Michael M. Boone has been chosen to receive the 2007-08 J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award from the University’s Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility. Boone will be honored in a luncheon ceremony at 11:30 a.m. Feb. 12 at the Belo Mansion.

A 1967 graduate of SMU’s Dedman School of Law, Boone has more than 40 years of experience in mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance, and securities transactions. As co-founder of Haynes and Boone L.L.P., he has been a catalyst for programs that promote diversity in the workplace and encourage participation in public service projects. In the Dallas community, Boone has served as president of the Dallas Citizens Council, as a leader at Preston Road Church of Christ and as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Highland Park Independent School District. At SMU, Boone serves on the Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee of the Dedman School of Law. He received the University’s Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1996.

The Maguire Center annually presents the J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award – named in honor of the former Dallas mayor – to individuals who “exemplify the spirit of moral leadership and public virtue.” Past winners include Curtis W. Meadows Jr., Dr. Charles C. Sprague, Stanley Marcus, William T. Solomon, Jack Lowe Jr., Dr. Ron J. Anderson, Tom Luce, Caren Prothro, Roger Staubach and Rev. Zan Wesley Holmes Jr.

Luncheon tickets are $50 each. For more information, contact Johnny Armijo, 8-4303.