Authors’ Awards nominations due Feb. 15

SMU’s Godbey Lecture Series (GLS) of Dedman College is now accepting nominations for its 28th annual Authors’ Awards. This year’s awards will be presented to three SMU faculty members who had outstanding books published during 2007.

Nominations are open to all SMU faculty members. The faculty member nominated must have authored or co-authored an outstanding book published during the previous year (Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2007). Nominations will be considered for authored (not edited) books only and will not be accepted or considered if published by vanity presses or paid to be published by the author.

Each winning author will receive a cash prize of $1,000, with co-authors receiving $500 each. The Authors’ Award luncheon will honor the winners Apr. 28 in the Umphrey Lee Grand Ballroom. Nominations must be received by Feb. 15. For more information or to make a nomination, contact Dorothy Friedlander, 8-3399.