Woodward honored at Fall General Faculty Meeting

Statistical Science Chair Wayne Woodward was honored as the 2006-07 United Methodist Church University Scholar/Teacher of the Year at SMU’s fall General Faculty Meeting Aug. 29. President R. Gerald Turner updated the faculty on important developments in campus life and the status of the George W. Bush presidential library complex. More under the link.

“I’m both honored and terrified to serve you in the Faculty Senate this year,” said incoming Senate President Gary Evans. He discussed training programs available to help faculty identify students in trouble with depression, alcohol or drugs. In addition, he updated the faculty on new developments in the University’s emergency preparedness plan.

Evans also pointed out that presently only 10 percent of faculty and staff and 38 percent of students have their cell phone numbers listed in the University database. He urged faculty members to update their emergency contact records at Access.SMU and to remind their students to do the same.

“With the loss last year of three students, we’re painfully aware of the importance of our programs regarding substance abuse prevention, education and enforcement, and the communication of these programs to our students and their parents,” said President Turner. He updated the faculty on the progress of the Task Force on Substance Abuse Prevention, which has appointed six working subgroups to make campuswide recommendations.

Turner will make his first report on SMU’s centennial campaign to the Board of Trustees at their meeting next week, he says. The University has completed the first year of the campaign’s quiet phase. Copies of the campaign and implementation plans are available at SMU’s libraries.

In addition, Turner provided an update on the status of the George W. Bush presidential library complex. The parties are working toward resolution of legal details, he said. Any agreement must be approved by SMU’s Board of Trustees and the Bush Library Foundation board, and any announcement will be made by the Bush Foundation and the National Archives and Records Administration, he added.

Turner, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Paul Ludden and the deans of the schools presented academic regalia to faculty members who received tenure in 2007:

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

  • Vladimir Ajaev, Mathematics
  • Suzanne Bost, English
  • Crista DeLuzio, History
  • Benjamin Johnson, History
  • Monnie McGee, Statistical Science
  • Pia Vogel, Biological Sciences

Meadows School of the Arts

  • Robert Krout, Music

Perkins School of Theology

  • Jaime Clark-Soles, New Testament
  • Roy Heller, Old Testament

School of Engineering

  • Marc Christensen, Electrical Engineering
  • Paul Krueger, Mechanical Engineering
  • David Willis, Mechanical Engineering