Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences Dedman College Research Undergraduate News

SMU Wins Three Championships at BPCC Eddy Shell Invitational Debate Tournament

SMU debaters Emma Waite, Eric Ryan, Brandt Vernon, and Ryan Booth won the team championship, varsity championship, and professional championship (February 20, 2022). They finished ahead of dozens of competitors from twenty universities such as Mississippi State University, Abilene Christian University, and Union University.   Eric Ryan finished as the #4 speaker overall in junior varsity division and a 6-1 record in prelims to be the #3 seed overall. Kaleb Simes was the #2 seed for the tournament after winning all seven of his preliminary rounds and going undefeated.  SMU’s six debaters won 65% of their more than 50 debate rounds.
SMU debate had six students and two coaches competing at the tournament. SMU competed in junior varsity, varsity and professional level divisions of the tournament.  Taylor Enslin also competed for SMU in varsity.  SMU is currently ranked the #4 overall debate program in the nation in 2022 IPDA rankings of more than 100 universities competing.  SMU competed more than 50 rounds of debate on Friday, Saturday and Sunday on more than 20 different debate topics.
Debaters were coached by Dr. Ben Voth and Price Morgan.
For more information, contact director Dr. Ben Voth at