Anthropology Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences Dedman College Research Economics Faculty News

2020 and 2021 Faculty Career Achievement Award Celebration

SMU News

Originally Posted: September 12, 2021

This week, President Turner and Provost Loboa welcomed community members and distinguished guests to a ceremony honoring Dr. Caroline Brettell, University Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, and Dr. Tom Fomby, Professor of Economics as the 2020 and 2021 recipients of SMU’s Faculty Career Achievement Award.

 The Faculty Career Achievement Award was established in 2015, and during our Second Century Campaign, to recognize remarkable contributions across the scope of a career by a current tenured SMU faculty member to the teaching, scholarship and service missions of the University.

In extraordinary ways, spanning nearly four decades, Doctors Brettell and Fomby exemplify SMU’s scholarly and creative aspirations. They are precisely the type of faculty members who have – and will continue to – lead us in our pursuit of even greater academic quality.