New leadership gifts to the Dedman School of Law will expand funding for one of the school’s eight legal clinics, add support for a successful scholarship program and create a new faculty position.

A $2.5 million gift from the W.W. Caruth, Jr. Foundation through Communities Foundation of Texas for the W.W. Caruth, Jr. Child Advocacy Clinic and Institute provides funding for new programming that will enable the institute to serve as an academic thought leader in transforming child welfare law and policy. The new gift also funds a clinic director, a tenure-track faculty director to lead the institute and support staff. The clinic serves children and families referred by the Dallas County Juvenile Court and trains law students interested in defending the rights of children.

The gift extends the foundation’s support for up to 10 years, subject to a five-year review. The gift represents the expansion of a partnership between the foundation and the clinic begun in 2001.

A $1 million gift from Helmut Sohmen ’66 expands support for the successful Sohmen Scholarship Program for top law graduates in China to attend SMU’s international LL.M. program. Dr. Sohmen serves asco-chair of the Campaign Steering Committee for International Regions and as a member of the Campaign Steering Committee for Dedman School of Law.

The gift brings to $4.25 million the support provided by Dr. Sohmen to support the scholarship program since 1998. The Dedman Foundation also has provided $2 million in matching funds. The new gift endows two additional scholarships, enabling SMU to host six Sohmen Scholars annually.

“My wife and I have always been interested in education because we believe it is the first and foremost solution to the problems in our world,” says Dr. Sohmen,who graduated from the SMU Law School.

A $1 million gift from Marilyn Hussman Augur ’89 will endow the Chief Judge Richard S. Arnold Rule of Law Professorship. Mrs. Augur serves as co-chair of the Campaign Steering Committee for Dedman School of Law. The professorship will be awarded to a top legal scholar and teacher whose work is focused on areas such as constitutional law, jurisprudence, criminal law, ethics, legal history or administrative law. The chair honors Judge Arnold, who earned a reputation for his intellect and sense of fairness and served as a Distinguished Professor at Dedman School of Law in 2001.