The December 3 Campaign Executive Committee (CEC) meeting showcased the robust efforts and significant impact of Second Century Campaign volunteers working both in Dallas and around the United States. The CEC comprises the 15-member Campaign Leadership Council and co-chairs and ex officio members of Campaign Steering Committees. Also attending were SMU deans and vice presidents, the director of athletics and staff from Development and External Affairs. Here are some highlights from this busy and productive gathering. (Financial figures as of November 30, 2009)

Campaign Leadership Council

Convening co-chair’s remarks

Welcoming: Gerald J. Ford ’66, ’69 (convening co-chair)
Mr. Ford welcomed the attendees and congratulated them on their efforts and contributions to the campaign’s success, especially notable given the current economic climate. He then led the CEC through co-chair and steering committee reports.

President’s report

Reporting: President R. Gerald Turner
Total commitments exceed $403 million of total $750 million goal. 35,825 donors have contributed thus far. Six new gifts of $1 million or more were received since May in support of scholarships, programs and faculty positions.

Student quality

Reporting: Carl Sewell ’66 (campaign co-chair)
Commitments exceed $86 million, or 43 percent of $200 million student quality goal. 193 new endowed scholarships added so far, compared to 171 during last campaign.

Faculty and academic excellence

Reporting: Caren H. Prothro (campaign co-chair)
Commitments total $206 million, or 59 percent of $350 million faculty and academic excellence goal. 16 new endowed faculty positions created during campaign, 22 additional endowed positions needed to reach goal of 100.

Campus experience

Reporting: Ruth Collins Sharp Altshuler ’48 (campaign co-chair)
Commitments total $92 million, or 46 percent of $200 million campus experience goal. Projects so far include new student and faculty housing at SMU-in-Taos and program support for the Hegi Family Career Development Center, among many others.

George W. Bush Presidential Center

Reporting: Ray L. Hunt ’65 (campaign co-chair)
Bush Center’s separate funding campaign continues, with SMU receiving 15 percent of gifts beyond agreed
targets. Building design unveiled in November. Bush Institute programs to begin in spring.

Campaign Steering Committees


Reporting: Elizabeth M. Armstrong ’82 (co-chair)
Planning underway for kickoff. Recruitment of new committee members will take place in coming months.

Los Angeles

Reporting: Marion O. Palley (co-chair) and Kelly Allen Welsh ’78 (co-chair)
Committee focused on cultivation events. Announcement of Roger and Marion Palley Family Internship Endowment in the Hegi Family Career Development Center. Announcement of Welsh family commitment to establish a Meadows Scholarship.

New York City

Reporting: Matthew E. Gormly, III (co-chair)
Fall events included reception hosted by Kelli and Gerald J. Ford and dinner for parents hosted by Katherine M. and Matthew E. Gormly, III. Future gatherings include reception featuring Athletics Director Steve Orsini and Coach June Jones, and gathering hosted by John Sidney Trahan ’83 and Mark A. Robertson ’85.

San Francisco

Reporting: C. David Cush ’82, ’83 (chair)
November 10 kickoff event attracted 150 alumni, family and friends. Committee will begin prospect review for spring cultivation.

Atlanta, Chicago, Houston, St. Louis, International Regions

Reporting: Brad E. Cheves (vice president for DEA)
Atlanta events included July gathering featuring Coach June Jones and holiday party at home of Jennifer D. Flanagan ’82 and Martin L. Flanagan ’82 (co-chairs). Three dinners at homes of Chicago steering committee members reconnected alumni, family and friends with SMU. Houston committee nearing its goal of 100 percent giving participation by committee members. September St. Louis kickoff hosted by John E. and Nancy A. St. Eve (co-chairs) attracted more than 100 guests. International Regions committee events slated for March in Pacific Rim.

Central University Libraries

Reporting: Ann Warmack Brookshire ’77 and Tavenner C. Lupton, III ’79 (co-chairs)
Belo archive donated to DeGolyer Library. Unveiling of Fondren Library renovation project slated for early 2010. Remember the Ladies! initiative has raised $600,000 toward $1 million goal.

Cox School of Business

Reporting: Frank M. Dunlevy ’71 (co-chair)
Commitments exceed $31 million. Includes support for two new academic centers; seven new faculty positions/awards; one new program; 72 new endowed scholarships (through the Edwin L. Cox ’42 BBA Scholarship Endowment) and 18 new multiyear scholarships.

Dedman College

Reporting: Frederick B. Hegi, Jr. ’66 and Kelly Hoglund Compton ’79 (co-chairs)
Commitments exceed $34 million. Focusing on funds for endowed positions and research in college’s Centers of Excellence, as well as Dean’s Research Council and the Dedman College Scholars Program. Fall cultivation gatherings in private homes featured presentations by distinguished faculty.

Dedman School of Law

Reporting: Alan D. Feld ’57, ’60 (convening co-chair)
Commitments include $4 million for endowment of Judge James Noel deanship; $1.8 million for endowed chair in bankruptcy law; $1 million for the Sohmen Chinese Scholars Program; $100,000 for the Craig Watkins Endowed Scholarship Fund.

Lyle School of Engineering

Reporting: Bobby B. Lyle ’67 (convening co-chair)
Commitments exceed $75 million. Ongoing initiatives target the $6.7 million remaining to be raised for Caruth Hall, at least $25 million toward early endowment for Caruth Institute for Engineering Education and $15 million for the Center for Engineering Leadership.

Meadows School of the Arts

Reporting: John S. McFarland ’59, ’61 (convening cochair), Sarah Fullinwider Perot ’83 and Linda Harris Gibbons ’58 (co-chairs)
Commitments include more than $45 million. A new $2 million anonymous commitment will endow a distinguished chair in art history. Fall Meadows showcase events featured talented faculty and students to cultivate high-profile arts patrons and alumni.

Perkins School of Theology

Reporting: Michael McKee ’78 and Kay Prothro Yeager ’61 (co-chairs)
Gifts exceed $28 million. Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall and enhancements to theology quadrangle dedicated September 11. Fundraising for the Faith and Business Luncheon Series and other initiatives are ongoing.

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

Reporting: Connie Blass O’Neill ’77 and Richard H. Collins ’69 (co-chairs)
Committee held inaugural meeting September 2. Six rooms in Annette Caldwell Simmons Hall have been named. $3 million remains to be raised toward construction. November 19 Simmons Luminary Award dinner honored former U.S. Education Secretary Margaret Spellings, former Texas Education Agency Chair Geraldine (Tincy) Miller ’56 and St. Phillip’s School headmaster Terry J. Flowers.

Faculty and staff

Reporting: Julie A. Wiksten ’78, ’92 (co-chair)
More than 800 faculty and staff attended September 3 kickoff events. Overall faculty and staff participation has reached 58 percent.


Reporting: Paul B. Loyd, Jr. ’68 and Denny R. Holman ’67 (co-chairs)
Fundraising ongoing for SMU Payne Stewart Golf Learning Center. Future initiatives include Turpin Tennis Stadium enhancements, SMU Aquatic Center facility and Moody Coliseum renovation.

Campus and student life

Reporting: Richard Ware ’68 (co-chair)
Launched Mustang Band Initiative for scholarship support and new band hall in Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports. Recent progress includes renovations at SMU-in-Taos and establishment of Palley Family Internship endowment in Hegi Family Career Development Center.