Order of the Barristers

What is the Order of the Barristers?

Order of Barristers, is earned by demonstrating one’s advocacy skills in competitions and one’s dedication to promoting advocacy through service. Each law school graduating class across the country is allowed to select up to ten students from its graduating class to join this prestigious society of top advocates.

This national honor is one of the few that will make its way onto your office wall and firm profile. The SMU BOA is authorized to administer the requirements for earning entry into the Order of Barristers.

Simply put, the Order “provides national recognition for individuals who have excelled in advocacy and service at their respective schools. Schools having chapters in the Order include those nationally recognized for outstanding moot court programs and for successful participation in regional, national, and international interscholastic moot court competitions.”

Becoming a Barrister

The Order of Barristers is a prestigious society, similar to the Order of the Coif, awarded to up to 10 Board of Advocate members that have attained the Master level. To qualify as a Master member of the Board of Advocates and be able to apply for this honor, you must earn BOA points by competing and serving.

Master-level BOA students apply for the Order of Barristers at the end of their last spring semester.

Voting members of the SMU Law faculty select ten applicants for the Order from those students who submit an application. Names are sent to the National Order of Barristers in April or May.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many students are selected?
A maximum of ten (10) Barristers are selected each year from the graduating class.

Who selects the students?
A faculty committee meets in the spring of each year to select students who are within six (6) months of graduation (i.e.,). Only graduating students or recent grads are eligible.

What recognition is received?
Barristers will receive a certificate, gold and white graduation cords, the Barristers medallion, may order a statute of Justice, and are recognized at annual law school banquet or other awards ceremony.

What does it cost?
There is no fee. However, should a recipient choose to do so, ordering the optional statue of Justice is $180.00.

How can I maximize my chances of being selected?
Realize that you are competing for a maximum of ten (10) spots. Begin building your advocacy “résumé” now. Participate in as many events as you can.

To better prepare you for what the faculty committee is looking for, the following is the information you will be asked to provide on the Order of Barristers Application:

1. Personal Information
2. Intrascholastic competitions
3. Interscholastic competition teams
4. Other advocacy-related activities

How can I apply?
The Order of Barristers Application will be posted on this site sometime during the Spring Semester of each year.

Past Order of the Barristers Honorees

2019 Graduating Class:
Briana Blackman, Charles Enstminger, Adrian Galvan, Austin Hamby, Ty Harding, Cecilia Jimenez, Gina Mills, Stacy Reeves, Alen Samuel, Kristina Smith

2018 Graduating Class:
Charles Carter, Alexander Cohen, Michael Fechner, Dallas Flick, Alexa Naumovich, Rebecca Neumann, Emma Persson, Alexandria Rahn, Alexis Swanzy, Andrew Upton

2017 Graduating Class:
Barrett Armbruster, Alstyn Bennet, Meredith Borschow, Courtney Capshaw, Hannah Kim, Chelsea McHenrey, Blair Moore, Laci Resendiz, Abigail Storm, Kolton Warren

2016 Graduating Class:
Dorlin A. Armijo, Robert Martin Dungan, Ryan Jones, Travis Daniel Jones, Taehee Mia Kim, William K. Knisley, Emily Kapuamohalaikealaule Liu, Angela M. Oliver, Sarah-Michelle Stearns, Allison Marie Stewart

2015 Graduating Class:
Jeffrey Lynn Andress, Samuel Parker Bragg, Haleigh Hill Jones, Christina Kearney, Janet Marian Landry, Scott Richard Larson, Jody Lynn Novak, Ian Ross Phillips, Grant Kennedy Smith, Jibraeel Azam Zaidi

2014 Graduating Class:
Heather Venrick Davis, Michael Hewitt, Zein Jivani, Patrick Kennedy, Chris Lambert, Kelsey Pollard, Ryan Segall, Austin Teng, Will Tran

2013 Graduating Class:
Alison Ayrea, Laurel Brewer, Natasha Combs, Scott Courtney, Chris Klement, Jonathan Koh, Tyler Levy, Brittany Litaker, Tim Springer, Justin Wheeler

2012 Graduating Class:
Stacy L. Cole, Laura Leslie Cox, Natasha Smiley Fedorov, Brent Douglas Hockaday, Melissa Jo Parker, Bennett j. Rawicki, Derric Smith, Joshua Luke Sandoval, John Clayton Sokatch, Steven Gregory Strobl

2011 Graduating Class:
Ann R. Chao, Farbod Farnia, Nicole Hay, Jamie Lauren Jackman, Roy McKay, Nathan Rogers, Erin Rolstad, Jeremy Lane Shipp, Jamie Sorley, Elizabeth Mills Viney

2010 Graduating Class:
Aubrey Colvard, Adam Doupe, Gemma Galeoto, Matthew Herzog, Camille Myra McCluer, Colin Newberry, David Overcash, Amy Richards, Rwan Saffarini, Jonathan Michael Thomas