Order of Barristers

What is the Order of Barristers?

Order of Barristers, is earned by demonstrating one’s advocacy skills in competitions and one’s dedication to promoting advocacy through service. Each law school graduating class across the country is allowed to select up to ten students from its graduating class to join this prestigious society of top advocates.

This national honor is one of the few that will make its way onto your office wall and firm profile. The SMU BOA is authorized to administer the requirements for earning entry into the Order of Barristers.

Simply put, the Order “provides national recognition for individuals who have excelled in advocacy and service at their respective schools. Schools having chapters in the Order include those nationally recognized for outstanding moot court programs and for successful participation in regional, national, and international interscholastic moot court competitions.”

Becoming a Barrister?

The Order of Barristers is a prestigious society, similar to the Order of the Coif, awarded to up to 10 Board of Advocate members that have attained the Master level. To qualify as a Master member of the Board of Advocates and be able to apply for this honor, you must earn BOA points by both competing in on and off-campus competitions and accumulating service points through volunteering.

Master-level BOA students apply for the Order of Barristers at the end of their last spring semester.

Voting members of the SMU Law faculty select ten applicants for the Order from those students who submit an application. Names are sent to the National Order of Barristers in April or May.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many students are selected?
A maximum of ten (10) Barristers are selected each year from the graduating class.

Who selects the students?
A faculty committee meets in the spring of each year to select students who are within six (6) months of graduation (i.e.,). Only graduating students or recent grads are eligible.

What recognition is received?
Barristers will receive a certificate, gold and white graduation cords, the Barristers medallion, may order a statute of Justice, and are recognized at annual law school banquet or other awards ceremony.

What does it cost?
There is no fee. However, should a recipient choose to do so, ordering the optional statue of Justice is $180.00.

How can I maximize my chances of being selected?
Realize that you are competing for a maximum of ten (10) spots. Begin building your advocacy “résumé” now. Participate in as many events as you can.

To better prepare you for what the faculty committee is looking for, the following is the information you will be asked to provide on the Order of Barristers application:

1. Personal Information
2. Intrascholastic competitions
3. Interscholastic competition teams
4. Other advocacy-related activities

How can I apply?

The Order of Barristers application will be posted on this site sometime during the Spring Semester of each year.

Past Order of Barristers Honorees

Class of 2021

Haley Caradonna
James Fletcher
Katherine Frisbie
Blake Glatstein
Autumn Keefer
Angelique Lee
Jacob Mathew
Kelly Neal
Mark Streiff
Christina Ta

Class of 2020

Michael Creme
Roslyn Dubberstein
Andrew Gray
John Healey
Ryan David Kruger
Austin Ryan Musser
James Peacock
Michael Pipkin
Sydney Sadler
J. Collin Spring

Class of 2019

Briana Blackman
Charles Enstminger
Adrian Galvan
Austin Hamby
Ty Harding
Cecilia Jimenez
Gina Mills
Stacy Reeves
Alen Samuel
Kristina Smith

Class of 2018

Charles Carter
Alexander Cohen
Michael Fechner
Dallas Flick
Alexa Naumovich
Rebecca Neumann
Emma Persson
Alexandria Rahn
Alexis Swanzy
Andrew Upton

Class of 2017

Barrett Armbruster
Alstyn Bennet
Meredith Borschow
Courtney Capshaw
Hannah Kim
Chelsea McHenrey
Blair Moore
Laci Resendiz
Abigail Storm
Kolton Warren

Class of 2016

Dorlin A. Armijo
Robert Martin Dungan
Ryan Jones
Travis Daniel Jones
Taehee Mia Kim
William K. Knisley
Emily Kapuamohalaikealaule Liu
Angela M. Oliver
Sarah-Michelle Stearns
Allison Marie Stewart

Class of 2015

Jeffrey Lynn Andress
Samuel Parker Bragg
Haleigh Hill Jones
Christina Kearney
Janet Marian Landry
Scott Richard Larson
Jody Lynn Novak
Ian Ross Phillips
Grant Kennedy Smith
Jibraeel Azam Zaidi

Class of 2014

Heather Venrick Davis
Michael Hewitt
Zein Jivani
Patrick Kennedy
Chris Lambert
Paul K. Nguyen
Kelsey Pollard
Ryan Segall
Austin Teng
Will Tran

Class of 2013

Alison Ayrea
Laurel Brewer
Natasha Combs
Scott Courtney
Chris Klement
Jonathan Koh
Tyler Levy
Brittany Litaker
Tim Springer
Justin Wheeler

Class of 2012

Stacy L. Cole
Laura Leslie Cox
Natasha Smiley Fedorov
Brent Douglas Hockaday
Melissa Jo Parker
Bennett J. Rawicki
Derric Smith
Joshua Luke Sandoval
John Clayton Sokatch
Steven Gregory Strobl

Class of 2011

Ann R. Chao
Farbod Farnia
Nicole Hay
Jamie Lauren Jackman
Roy McKay
Nathan Rogers
Erin Rolstad
Jeremy Lane Shipp
Jamie Sorley
Elizabeth Mills Viney

Class of 2010

Aubrey Colvard
Adam Doupe
Gemma Galeoto
Matthew Herzog
Camille Myra McCluer
Colin Newberry
David Overcash
Amy Richards
Rwan Saffarini
Jonathan Michael Thomas

Class of 2009

Dustin Appel
Liz Austin
Ward Davison
Stephanie Gonzales
Jessica Henson
John Kane
Steve Lecholop
Robert Luyties
Scott Rewak
Bill Richmond

Class of 2008

Amber Billingsley
Erin Martin
Rob Bogdanowicz
Stephanie Glass Ernst
Danielle Senn
Christopher Simmons
Rachael Stringer
Andrea Bouressa
Nick Bruce
Christopher Meyers

Class of 2007

Liz Boydston
Susannah Chester
Trey Crawford
Kaimi Excobar
Duane Galligher
Hilary Lefko
Michael Ma
Beth Perry
Josh Somers
Rebecca Tillery

Class of 2001

Robert J. Collins
Samantha Allen Denton
Elizabeth Anne Fruin
John Henry Ivie, III
Leslie Rachael Jones
Michelle Kemp
Erica Lynn LeBlanc
Richard James Riley
K.D. Shull
Luis Guillermo Zambrano

Class of 2000

Amy Louise Bryant
Suzanne Marie Dukes
Tisha Danielle Ghormley
Jennifer Laurel Murphy
Brian Ng
Jennifer R. Perez
Robert K. Rad cliff
Heather Slay
Tracy Tucker
Joseph Tung

Class of 1999

Kristopher Barber
Cherie Batsel
Jim Bavouset
April Carter
Michelle Coburn
Le Douglas Johnson
Tricia Robinson
Emily Shoupe
Trey Tate
Yodete Turner

Class of 1998

Randall Block
Marie Briner
Andrea Evans
Suneese Haywood
Erika Jefferson
Lara Jitlal
Angela Knight
Kendra McCartney
Tonya Parker
Dough Skierski
Aubrey “Nick” Pittman (Honorary)

Class of 1997

Bryan Todd Adamson
Scott J. Becker
Brent Eric Berkley
Michelle Christine Campbell
Toni Ngoc-Hanh Dinh
Kristin Dye
Kelli Lynn Roach Holway
Laura Flores Macom
William Charles Murley
Todd Shelby Spickard
Professor Frederick C. Moss (Honorary)

Class of 1996

Naneen Keri Baden
Martha Lee Bean
Lisa M. Haines
Trina M. McReynolds
Karin Mechelle Norington
Richard Lee Parker
Devora Ann Vaughn
Misty M. Ventura
Karen Elizabeth Woodward
Donna Michelle Wright
Professor Linda S. Eads (Honorary)

Class of 1995

Jamil Alibhai
Dana Brown
Joseph Brown
Dana Burton
Kimberly Griffin
Dolores Mongelli
Erin Angela Nealy
Clement Osimetha
Brenton Robertson
Magdeline Rodriguez
Richard Vangelisti

Class of 1994

George Childress
John Cooper
William Davidoff
Claudia Frey
Brett Johnson
Cecile Labega
Ellen LeGrand
Nancy Penick
Jonothan Polak
Lisa Schiffman
Melissa Smith

Class of 1993

David Gregorio Cabrales
Kelly Joe Curnutt
David D. Davis
Robert Marc Manley
Koyne Denee Smith