National Security & Civil Liberties Conference

Saturday, October 22, 2011 (8:15 AM – 4:30 PM)
Meadows Museum (map)



This conference explores the tensions between the Constitutional mandates to provide for the common defense and domestic tranquility, and to preserve the blessings of liberty.  The three expert panels will focus on the basic legal and ethical controversies, the treatment of detainees, and individual rights.  The luncheon will feature a debate between two constitutional lawyers. Co-sponsored with the Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility at SMU.


Agenda & Speakers

8:15am  Registration
8:45am  Welcome and Introduction to Conference
  Rita Kirk, Director, Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics & Public ResponsibilitySeyom Brown, Director of Studies, John G. Tower Center for Political Studies
9:00–10:30am Panel 1: The Basic Legal and Ethical Controversies
Joseph F. Kobylka (Chair), Associate Professor of Political Science, SMU

Robin Lovin, Cary M. Maguire University Professor of Ethics, Perkins School of Theology, SMU

Hina Shamshi, Director, National Security Project, ACLU

Daniel Tichenor, Philip H. Knight Professor of Social Science, University of Oregon

10:30am Coffee Break
11:00am–12:30pm Panel 2: Treatment of Detainees
Rick Halperin (Chair), Director, Embrey Human Rights Program, SMU

Mike Marchand, President, The Center for American and International Law

Robert Chesney, Professor of Law, University of Texas

Kathleen Clark, Professor of Law, Washington University Law

1:00-2:45pm Luncheon and Debate
Seyom Brown (Moderator), John Goodwin Tower Distinguished Chair for International Politics & National Security, SMU

John Yoo, Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law

Joe “Chip” Pitts,  Lecturer, Stanford Law

3:00 – 4:30pm  Panel 3: Individual Rights
Lee Cullum (Chair), Journalist

Jeffrey Kahn, Associate Professor of Law, SMU Dedman School of Law

Jeffrey Bellin, Assistant Professor of Law, SMU Dedman School of Law

Becky Gregory, Former U.S. Attorney, Eastern District of Texas