May 16, 2012

Dedman School of Law honored seven highly accomplished legal and business professionals at its annual Distinguished Alumni Awards dinner February 27. This year’s recipients and their awards are (from left) W. Richard Davis ’58, mayor of University Park and a retired partner of Strasburger & Price LLP, Private Practice Award; Dean M. Gandy ’50, retired judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Texas, Judicial Service Award; trustee Carl Sewell Jr., chairman of Sewell Automotive Companies, who earned a B.B.A. in banking, finance and economics from SMU in 1966, named an honorary alumnus of the law school; Edward B. Rust Jr. ’75, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of State Farm Mutual, the Robert G. Storey Award for Distinguished Achievement (the highest honor); Sarah R. Saldaña ’84, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Texas, Government Service Award; and D. Wayne Watts ’80, senior executive vice president and general counsel of AT&T, Corporate Service Award. H. Harjono ’81, founding justice of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Indonesia, recipient of the Distinguished Global Alumni Award, was unable to attend and will receive his award at a later date.