May 26, 2011

SMU libraries bear little resemblance to the first library that was located in a room in Dallas Hall. The University system now comprises seven libraries – DeGolyer Library, Fondren Library Center, Hamon Arts Library, Institute for the Study of Earth and Man, Business Information Center and the professional Underwood Law Library and Bridwell Library, as well as libraries at SMU-in-Taos and SMU-in-Plano. Patrons also rely on online materials available through SMU libraries – approximately 20,000 magazine or journal subscriptions, 472 databases, 308,700 e-books, 8,330 digitized special collections items and streaming access to more than 50,000 CDs. And there is always the traditional route: more than 3 million books.