May 10, 2010

Known as the “Pony Express,” Eric Dickerson (left) and Craig James were honored at the Legends Award banquet Feb. 19.

Eric Dickerson ’84 and Craig James ’84, former SMU star running backs, were awarded the 2009 PricewaterhouseCoopers Doak Walker Legends Award.

The award honors former running backs who excelled at the collegiate level and are leaders in their communities. Teammates Dickerson and James led SMU to national championships in 1981 and 1982. Dickerson went on to an 11-year NFL career where he was voted All-Pro six times and named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. During James’ career with the New England Patriots, he was named Offensive Player of the Year and a member of the 1986 Pro Bowl team.
– Nancy Lowell George ’79