2014 Undergraduate Psychology Award Winners

Sean Potter is this year’s winner of the Senior Award for Outstanding Performance.

Kelli Sargent is the recipient of the award for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate in Psychology.

Congratulations to both outstanding seniors!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Graduate Students Present their Research

Eight graduate students will be presenting research posters at the SMU Research Day on Feb. 26.  They (and their advisors) are: Grace Boyers (Dr. Meuret), Jenna Ellison (Dr. Kouros), Lindy Fields (Dr. Brown), Julie Kangas (Dr. Baldwin), Anne Kleinsasser (Dr. Jouriles), Valerie Loehr (Baldwin), Victoria Mueller (Dr. Jouriles), and Chelsey Werchan (Dr. Ritz).

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Five Psychology Undergraduates Present Their Research

Two psychology undergraduates presented their research projects at the Engaged Learning Symposium on Feb. 6th. Mariam Alaka presented her study of about Nigerian orphans’ awareness of HIV/AIDS, under the direction of Dr. Holden. In addition, Goke Akinniranye presented his senior distinction project. It is being mentored by Dr. Anthony Cortese.

Three other undergraduates will be presenting posters at SMU Research day (Feb. 6): Liz Neil (mentored by Dr. Rowe), Hani Gazal (Dr. Holden), and Ellen Seldin (Dr. Frank).  Good work to all!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Ten Undergraduate Psych Majors Nominated for Phi Beta Kappa

There is a bumper crop this year of Psych majors who have been nominated for membership in Phi Beta Kappa, our country’s oldest and most prestigious academic honorary society.  They are Margaret Brown, Madison Coleman, Alex Day, Olivia Dossett, Julia Fischer, Catherine Fox, Taisha Husbands , Jordan Newman, Basilia Oseguera, Courtney Parish. Congratulations to all!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Dr. Simpson Rowe is Contributing Editor of the Year

Dr. Lorelei Simpson Rowe was selected as Contributing Editor of the Year for the APA journal Psychology of Violence. Dr. Simpson Rowe is an Associate Professor and the Co-Director of Clinical Training. Her expertise is in prevention of dating violence and the relation between low-level intimate partner violence and couple therapy outcomes. Congratulations!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Dr. Holden will lead Family Compass

Dr. George Holden, Professor of Psychology, was recently chosen to be the president-elect of the Board of Directors of Family Compass. Dr. Holden is a world reknowned authority on parenting, and Family Compass serves the Dallas community by teaching parenting skills to individuals at risk. Several Department of Psychology faculty members currently are conducting projects in collaboration with Family Compass, and this appointment may open the door for future collaborative projects.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Dr. Meuret selected as Beck Institute Scholar

Dr. Alicia Meuret has been selected as a 2014 Beck Institute Scholar.  The purpose of this program is to offer state-of-the-art training to young scholars who have made significant contributions the field of cognitive therapy, and who are likely to continue to do so.  Congratulations!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Grant awarded to Dr. Baldwin

Social psychologist Dr. Austin Baldwin, together with Dr. Jasmin Anita Tiro at UTSW, received a multi-year grant from the National Cancer Institute to develop a self-persuasion intervention to promote adolescent HPV vaccination.  Nice work!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Chair receives Outstanding Faculty Partner Award

Dr. Ernest Jouriles received the inaugural SMU Division of Student Affairs’ Outstanding Faculty Partner Award.  Kudos to Ernie.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Faculty members’ research featured in APA Monitor

The research of Drs. Thomas Ritz and Alicia Meuret is featured in the November 2013 issue of the American Psychological Association’s Monitor:


Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off