Category Archives: Campus Life

What Do People Do at SMU?

By John Angle jangle@smu.edu Hey folks! So you may be wondering, “what do people do at SMU?” Well one big way that a lot of people spend their time is to get involved in one of SMU’s 180+ clubs and … Continue reading

Posted in Campus Life, General | Leave a comment

The First Step

By Courtney Steele csteele@smu.edu Walking up the stairs to the Hughes-Trigg Student Center that summer, a huge “Welcome New Mustangs” banner hung above the entrance, I was terrified. The time had finally arrived, AARO (academic advising registration and orientation) was … Continue reading

Posted in Campus Life, General | Leave a comment

Elephants and Super Heroes and Narwhals, OH MY!

By Annie Bures abures@smu.edu We all loved Halloween when we were little but in college it is Halloween all year ‘round! Now every university has its traditions about costume parties but at SMU we do it large and in style! … Continue reading

Posted in Ambassadors, Campus Life, Spirit and Traditions | Leave a comment

Weather Woman

By Lauren Lyngstad llyngstad@smu.edu Though it is February 2, and Punxsutawney Phil may have “seen” his shadow, it sure doesn’t seem like winter time in Dallas. The past week the highs have been around the 60s and 70s, making it … Continue reading

Posted in Ambassadors, Campus Life, Life Around Dallas | Leave a comment

A Very Centered Start to the Semester

By Elizabeth Eliot eeliot@smu.edu One of the great things about SMU is the opportunity that we have as students to really explore our interests through the variety of classes offered here. Whether you want to expand your horizons in terms of … Continue reading

Posted in Athletics, Campus Life | Leave a comment

A Family Affair

By Greg Nelson rgnelson@smu.edu It was great to be home in Ohio for winter break with my family. It had been about five months since I had been home. While I was home, my brother who is a senior in … Continue reading

Posted in Ambassadors, Campus Life, General | Leave a comment

Going Greek

By Annie Bures abures@smu.edu We have all seen the stereotypical depictions of Greek life on TV and in movies but the media doesn’t always show what Greek life is really like on a college campus. At SMU, where roughly one … Continue reading

Posted in Campus Life, Spirit and Traditions | Leave a comment

Back and Forth

By Courtney Steele csteele@smu.edu Here we are. Spring semester of 2012, what an exciting time for everyone! I hope y’all are having a great start to the end of your high school careers and are getting excited about starting college … Continue reading

Posted in Ambassadors, Campus Life, General | Leave a comment

Study On!

By Janielle Kastner jkastner@smu.edu Now that I’ve returned from Winter Break, I have to actively re-wire my brain from planning get-togethers with friends, napping, and eating copious amounts of comfort food back to studying, planning class schedules, and balancing rehearsals … Continue reading

Posted in Academics, Ambassadors, Campus Life | Leave a comment

SMU (Tour Guide) Style

By Liz Blumberg eblumberg@smu.edu If you’ve ever visited the Admissions Office on campus, I’m sure you’ve caught a glimpse of at least one of us students hard at work. I’m sure you’ve also noticed our spirited attire: red and blue … Continue reading

Posted in Ambassadors, Campus Life | Leave a comment