McFadden, Allen to be honored at Doak Walker Awards banquet

Darren Mcfadden and Marcus AllenUniversity of Arkansas junior Darren McFadden will receive the 2007 Doak Walker Award at a 7 p.m. presentation banquet Feb. 15 at the Hilton Anatole Hotel. In 2007, McFadden earned 20 touchdowns rushing, receiving and passing and led the Southeastern Conference with 1,725 rushing yards – setting the Arkansas single-season and career rushing records. McFadden also was the 2006 recipient of the award and is its second two-time recipient.

Marcus Allen, former USC and NFL great, will receive the 2007 PricewaterhouseCoopers Doak Walker Legends Award. During his senior year with the Trojans, Allen earned the 1981 Heisman Trophy and became the first player in NCAA history to rush for more than 2,000 yards (2,342 total). An NFL and Super Bowl MVP, he played for 16 seasons with the Oakland (now Los Angeles) Raiders and Kansas City Chiefs and is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. Allen and his wife, Kathryn, serve as spokespeople for Ronald McDonald Children’s Charities.

The presentation banquet will be hosted by Lee Corso, Chris Fowler and Kirk Herbstreit, co-hosts of “ESPN College Gameday.” For more information, contact the Office of Program Services, 8-4314.