Faculty Senate

Calendar Highlights: Back to school in brief, Aug. 26, 2013

Dallas Hall stepsWelcome back, SMU community! Here are some Fall 2013 dates to remember:

  • First day of classes: Monday, Aug. 26
  • General Faculty Meeting: 3:45 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 28
  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 2 (University offices closed)
  • First Faculty Senate meeting of 2013-14: 3:10-5 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 4 (note new time)
  • Family Weekend: Friday-Sunday, Oct. 4-6
  • Fall Break: Monday-Tuesday, Oct. 14-15
  • Homecoming Weekend: Friday-Sunday, Oct. 25-27
  • Thanksgiving: Thursday-Friday, Nov. 28-29 (University offices closed)
  • Last day of classes: Monday, Dec. 9
  • Final exams: Thursday-Wednesday, Dec. 12-18 (no exams scheduled for Sunday)
  • December Graduation: Saturday, Dec. 21
  • Christmas/Winter Break: Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2013-Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2014 (University offices closed)

Visit the SMU calendar to keep an eye on upcoming events. Learn how to submit your own events at this link.

Five win 2013 Faculty Senate Outstanding Staff Awards

The Faculty Senate honored five exemplary SMU staff members with 2013 Faculty Senate Outstanding Staff Awards during its last meeting of the academic year on Wednesday, May 1.

In addition to the award, each honoree received a tote bag containing items ranging from season tickets to memberships to logo sportswear. The gifts were donated by SMU Athletics, the SMU Bookstore, SMU Dining Services, Meadows Museum and Meadows Theatre.

This year’s winners:

  • Carole Harris, Music, Meadows School of the Arts
  • Carolyn Harrod, Biological Sciences, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Margaux Montgomery, Economics, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences
  • Stephanie Murray, Mechanical Engineering, Lyle School of Engineering
  • Charee Stewart, Philosophy, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

This year, as a campuswide thank-you to the staff, Faculty Senate President Steve Edwards presented dining coupons for RFoC @ Lee to each senator to take a deserving staff member to lunch. In addition, all staff members nominated for the Faculty Senate awards received dining certificates, as well as their nominators.

University completes property swap with Chi Omega

SMU Chi Omega House at 3014 Daniel Avenue

The Chi Omega house at 3014 Daniel Avenue will become the property of SMU’s Division of Student Affairs in a swap for University property at 3034 Daniel. The sorority will build its new house at the northeast corner of Daniel and Durham Street. Photo from the SMU Chi Omega website.

SMU has made a property trade with one of its sorority chapters to take effect Monday, April 1, 2013. The Iota Alpha chapter of Chi Omega at SMU will build its new house at 3034 Daniel Avenue, while the current Chi Omega house at 3014 Daniel Avenue will become the property of the Division of Student Affairs.

Chi Omega will begin construction on a new house this year, and its membership wanted to locate the facility closer to the hub of SMU’s sorority activity. In 2012, sorority members began discussions about the exchange with SMU vice presidents Brad Cheves, Development and External Affairs; Chris Regis, Business and Finance, and Lori White, Student Affairs. Cheves helped negotiate the swap.

Later this spring, the sorority will begin abatement and demolition of the SMU Faculty Club building currently located at 3034 Daniel, on the northeast corner of Daniel Avenue and Durham Street. The new Chi Omega house is scheduled to open at its new address in Fall 2014.

The University plans to relocate the Faculty Club to a new visitors’ center, currently in the planning stages. Plans for the facility at 3014 Daniel will be announced at a later date.

The move may have a minimal short-term impact on Faculty Club events such as the Distinguished Luncheons, which are frequently held in larger venues due to high levels of interest. In addition, Faculty Club members will continue to gather in the Faculty/Staff Dining Room in RFoC @ Lee.

In recent years, the Faculty Club has provided office space for Alumni Relations and Engagement and the Faculty Senate. Both offices have moved to the University’s East Campus on North Central Expressway – Alumni Relations to the 6200 Building and the Faculty Senate to the 12th floor of Expressway Tower at 6116 North Central.

The month of March has been devoted to removing and storing all Faculty Club property from the 3034 Daniel house, as well as reusable fixtures ranging from faucets to door handles, says Alison Tweedy, senior director of campus services. “Facility Services will take out anything that can be reused or repurposed,” she says.

The SMU Faculty Club, which is open to both faculty and staff members, was founded in 1921 as a social club for male faculty members. A women’s club was founded in 1928, and the two merged in 1963. Both clubs held their meetings in Atkins Hall (now Clements Hall) until the male club moved to the second floor of McFarlin Auditorium in the 1940s.

As Faculty Senate president in 1972-73, Ruth P. Morgan, who would later become University provost, made it a priority to establish a new home for the Faculty Club. Provost H. Neil McFarland provided the property at 3034 Daniel Avenue, then a sorority house, in 1973. The club was officially chartered in that location on August 6, 1973.

Nominate staff members for Faculty Senate awards by April 8, 2013

Nominations are due by Monday, April 8, for the 2013 Faculty Senate Outstanding Staff Awards. The Faculty Senate will present citations and gifts to three exemplary University staff members at its final meeting of 2012-13 at 1 p.m. Wednesday, May 1, in the Hughes-Trigg Student Center Ballroom West.

Awardees are judged by the Executive Committee of the Senate and decided by the letters and number of votes accompanying them. Additional members of your department should reconfirm the nomination. If you are resubmitting a candidate who has been nominated but not selected in the past, previous letters of recommendation can be retrieved from Faculty Senate files.

To enter an outstanding staff member for consideration, e-mail Faculty Senate Secretary Julie Maynard with the following information:

  • Your full name, department and position
  • Your nominee’s full name, department and position
  • An explanation of why the nominated staff member deserves to receive the award

For more information, contact Julie Maynard, 214-768-3559. Find lists of previous winners at the Faculty Senate Awards and Recognitions page.

Deadline for 2013 honorary degree nominations is Sept. 26

Former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice with SMU President R. Gerald Turner

Former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice (pictured with President R. Gerald Turner) received an honorary Doctor of Laws from SMU during its 2012 Commencement ceremony. Photo: Hillsman S. Jackson.

SMU’s Faculty Senate is seeking nominations for the honorary degree class of 2013. Nominees should be individuals “whose uncommon personal accomplishments at home or abroad have served society and the public good, or who enlarge human understanding and enrich human life, in any field of endeavor.” The deadline to nominate is Wednesday, Sept. 26.

Nominations should include:

  • a note identifying your membership in the SMU community
  • a 1-2 page statement detailing the nominee’s contributions
  • supporting biographical documentation
  • contact information for the nominee

Check SMU’s criteria for honorary degree selection (PDF format), and send nominations via e-mail or regular mail to Faculty Senate Secretary Steven Vik, SMU Box 750241.

> Read the honorary degree criteria
Find a list of previous recipients at the Registrar’s homepage

By | 2013-09-03T15:08:35+00:00 September 4, 2012|Categories: News, Save the Date|Tags: , , |
Load More Posts