Emmanuel Sanders and Chase KennemerThirteen SMU Mustangs earned 15 selections to the 2009 All-Conference USA football teams, as selected by the league’s 12 head football coaches. Seniors Emmanuel Sanders and Chase Kennemer (left and right in photo) made the first team – Sanders as both a wide receiver and punt returner and Kennemer as a linebacker. Sophomore tackle Kelvin Beachum Jr. was named to the second team.

Ten players earned honorable mention, with senior Bryan McCann selected as a defensive back and kick returner. SMU had three honorees on offense – junior running back Shawnbrey McNeal, sophomore tackle J.T. Brooks and sophomore guard Josh LeRibeus. Eight SMU defenders were recognized, including McCann; senior safety Rock Dennis; junior linebackers Pete Fleps and Youri Yenga; sophomore defensive ends Taylor Thompson and Marquis Frazier; and first-year defensive end Margus Hunt. As a kick returner, McCann earned a special-teams selection for the Mustangs. Read more.

Additionally, three first-year players have been named to the conference’s 2009 All-Freshman Team. Quarterback Kyle Padron, wide receiver Darius Johnson and linebacker Taylor Reed were selected by the league’s 12 head football coaches. Read more.