The SMU community has the chance to recognize indispensable staffers in its libraries and throughout the campus with two spring awards.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2007-08 SMU Libraries Staff Recognition Awards, which recognize outstanding contributions to the Libraries and/or to the information professions, as well as service to library users. The five awards carry a monetary prize of $500 each. General considerations and criteria for these awards can be found at the SMU Libraries website. Any member of the campus community may nominate a Libraries staff member has not won the award within the past 5 years (consult the list of previous winners). The directors of Bridwell Library, Business Information Center, Central University Libraries and Underwood Law Library are not eligible for the awards.

The deadline for consideration is April 18. Submit a nomination online or e-mail Cindy Ruppi for more information or a paper form.

Meanwhile, the Faculty Senate will present citations and gifts to three outstanding University staff members at its final meeting of 2007-08 on May 7. Nominations for the 2008 Faculty Senate Outstanding Staff Awards will be accepted until noon April 14. Faculty members should e-mail Julie Maynard with:

  • your full name, department and position;
  • the full name, department and position of the SMU staff member being nominated; and
  • an explanation of why you believe the individual deserves the award.