The Office of the Provost seeks nominations of outstanding teaching faculty, tenured and tenure-track, for several prestigious state and national awards recognizing teaching excellence. These honors include the Piper Professor Award, the Cherry Award, and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Professor of the Year and carry prizes ranging from $5,000 to $200,000.

Those submitting a candidate’s name should include a letter giving the rationale and indicating willingness to be a formal nominator if the person becomes the SMU nominee for an award. Please include names of three additional references for the nominee.

Each nomination should be endorsed by the nominee’s department chair; chairs may endorse more than one nominee. Send nominations to the Office of National Fellowships, Office of the Provost, by April 20, 2008. Watch the SMU Forum for additional information.